X
header one

In brief

  • Link multiple practice locations in TeleCare
  • Flexibly assign staff to practices
  • Access patients across practices
  • Appoint members of staff as TeleCare Managers

If you serve your patients in multiple locations, TeleCare allows you to flexibly manage these locations and assign members of staff across them (including staff assignments to multiple locations at the same time). This is supported by a concept we call an “organization”. The sections below explain how you can manage your TeleCare organization.

1. Managing organizations

1.1. Overview

The below diagram shows how a TeleCare organization is structured and the user roles that exist (in parentheses):

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-schema_1800x870

When a TeleCare account is created, the system automatically

  1. creates an organization
  2. creates the first practice
  3. makes the user creating the account the first provider
  4. assigns the role of “Organization Manager” to that user

 

  • The organization is managed by the “Organization Manager” (role):
    • An “Organization Manager” can manage all practices, practice managers, providers and patients within the organization.
  • Each practice is managed by a “Practice Manager” (role)
    • A ”Practice Manager” is assigned to the practice by the organization manager or another practice manager
    • A “Practice Manager” can create and assign providers to any of the practices they are assigned to themselves.
  • Providers (role) can manage patients within the practice(s) they are assigned to.
  • Patients are assigned to the provider that creates them and that provider’s practice by default.

 

1.2. Creating a new practice

Only available for providers/users with the role as “Practice Manager” and “Organization Manager”.

  1. Launch the TeleCare Portal.
  2. In the main menu, select MANAGE-> Practices.
  3. Click on “Create new practice”.
  4. Fill in the information about the new practice
  5. Click “Save”.
TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-menu_950x1188

1.3. Editing practice details

  1. In the main menu, select MANAGE-> Practices.
  2. Click on the name of the practice you would like to edit to open the practice detail view.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click on “Edit”.
  4. Makes changes.
  5. Click on “Save”.

1.4. Deleting a practice

  1. In the main menu, select MANAGE-> Practices
  2. Click on the practice you would like to delete to open the practice detail page.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click on “Delete”.

A practice can only be deleted if no providers are currently assigned to it. If there are still providers assigned, a pop-up with a warning appears.

You can take the following actions for providers currently assigned to a practice that you would like to delete:

  1. Remove all assignments to the practice to be deleted from providers (please refer to section 5 in this guide)
  2. Delete the providers currently assigned to the practice

2. Managing providers in your organization

2.1. Creating a new provider with role and practice assignments

  1. Open the main menu, select MANAGE-> Users.
  2. Click on “Add user”
  3. The “Create Provider” screen will open. Fill in the required information.
  4. Choose a role for the provider in the “Roles” section:
TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-employee_1800x2475px

    a) As an “Organization Manager”, you can assign any of the three roles.

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-practices-role-admin_950x141px

    b) As a “Practice Manager” you can assign the following roles:

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-practices-role-practice_950x141px

Please note: A role assignment is always valid across all practices an provider is assigned to.

5. Assign providers to practices in the “Assign practices”[1] section of the provider profile:

[1] These are required inputs.

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-practices_1800x2475px

    a) In the “Assign practices” drop-down menu, select one or more of the practices the provider should be assigned to. You can remove any of the selections again by clicking on the “x” symbol in front of it.

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-practices-practice-assign_950x141px

    b) Select a default practice for the provider. New patients the provider creates via Connexx or manually in the TeleCare Portal will be automatically assigned to this default practice.

6. Click on “Save”.

Please note: Users with the role “Organization Manager” will always have all practices in the organization assigned. This assignment cannot be changed.

2.2. Editing users’ roles and practice assignments

Roles and assignments for existing user profiles can be changed in the same place and the same way as when they are first created.

  1. Open the main menu, select MANAGE-> Users.
  2. Click on the provider you would like to change assignments for.
  3. The provider profile will open. Click on “Edit” at the bottom of the page.
  4. To change the role -> Choose the new role in the “Roles” section of the profile page.
  5. To assign or delete practices -> Select the practices in the “Assign practice”

2.3. Deleting an provider profile

A providers cannot be deleted if there are still patients assigned to them. Please make sure to reassign all patients to other providers in your organization.

3. Managing patients in multi-practice setups

3.1. Patient list

When using TeleCare with a multi-practice organization, your patient list will by default show:

  •  all the patients assigned to you
  • across all practices to which you are assigned

At the top of the list, you can filter the patient list by any of your individual practices and any provider assigned to those practices.

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-patients-list_1800x901px

3.2. Patient assignment to a practice

When creating[1] or editing[2] a patient profile, the patient can be assigned to any of the organization’s practices:

[1] Main menu > Overview – Click on “Add patient”

[2] Open the patient Profile > Settings icon – click on “Edit Patient”

TeleCare_portal-multistore_screenshot-create-patient_1800x1591px

By default, this is the practice of the provider creating the patient profile. This is also the case when the patient is created via Connexx.

For changing a patient’s practice assignment:

  1. Open the patient’s profile
  2. Click on the settings icon
  3. Click on “Edit Patient”
  4. Update the relevant information in the sections “Practice” and “Provider”
  5. Click on “Save”.